The Book Thief – Drop Everything and Read it


This is a book I’ve had on my kindle for a while. Usually what I do is I check the top ten lists and write down the books that continuously make the list and then I load those onto my kindle. That’s why I end up having over 100 books on there at one time. Yeah, it’s a sickness I tell you.

Anyway, after reading the crap that was Twilight for a second time. (The second time was horrible . . . ) I wanted something with substance and I heard good things about The Book Thief and wanted to give it a go. I’m SO glad I did.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak is an amazing story about World War 2 Germany narrated by the ever clever, exciting, and often entertaining voice of Death. The novel is about a young girl, Liesel, who moves in with her foster family, Rosa, and Hans Huberman on Himmel street, after losing her mother and watching her brother die at the tender age of 11. Death gives the reader insight into Liesel, The Book Thief’s, world during the war including lack of food, lack of jobs, and a lack of color. But, when a stranger shows up at the Huberman’s door one night, they must make a decision that might change their futures, and Liesel, forever.

Zusak seriously knows how to tell a story. I can’t wait to pick up another book of his. Death as a narrator is an extremely interesting idea and it works very well with the story. Death gives us more insight than a normal first person narrative can, and even spoils bits of the story for us (but it’s all worth it.) It’s very cleverly written and will stick with the reader long after the final page.

Hit up your nearest bookstore, library, or e-reader store and add this to your list immediately. You won’t be disappointed!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

