The Help – Nearly Perfect Movie Adaption


This particular blog has been in the making for a while now. I’ve been a little lazy and I’d like to apologize for that now. Honestly, I used to blog after my son went to bed. Lately, we’ve had company at the house and I’ve been in the throes of my first trimester, so anytime my son is sleeping . . . I’m trying to sleep as well. So, I’ve kind of gotten behind on my reviews.

The Help movie adaptation has been out since Wednesday, August 10th and I’m only just now getting around to reviewing it. But, I guess it’s better late than never . . . right?

The Help movie is a wonderful adaptation of the novel. If you’ve read it before seeing the movie, you won’t be disappointed. There are a couple of liberties that are made and the telling of Constantine’s story is different, but all of the parts that need to be in there are definitely in there. We saw this movie in a packed theater. Everyone seemed to throughly enjoy themselves, women and men alike. (In fact, Aaron and I went to see Rise of the Planet of the Apes last night and he still says The Help is his favorite movie this year.)

I strongly suggest you guys head out to the theater and take this movie in. Whether you’ve read the novel or not, you’ll want to after watching this spectacular movie. I look forward to seeing the oscar buzz that will be surrounding this movie this year. And I’d be quite surprised if Viola Davis (Aibileen) is not nominated for best actress this year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment