The Help – Now in my Top Ten Favorite Books of all Time List


It’s taken me forever to finally sit down and read The Help by Kathryn Stockett. My sister-in-law first told me about it and when she explained it . . . I just didn’t seem interested in a story that was set in the sixties and dealt with civil rights issues. I kept seeing the novel show up everywhere and had even downloaded it onto my kindle . . . but there were a lot of other novels out that I wanted to read and re-read and I never got around to it. Finally, this summer while I was in Texas and right before the movie came out, I finally picked it up and couldn’t put it down.

The Help is told by three very different authors. Eugenia “Skeeter” Phelan, a white woman of privilege, who has come home to Jackson, Mississippi after graduating from Ole Miss; Aibileen, probably the most reliable narrator, an older woman who has been a maid for white women nearly her entire life but ultimately aspires to be more; and the sassy Minny who’s mouth and attitude tend to get her into a lot of trouble.

The three narrators come together to help tell the story of “The Help” to aspiring writer, Skeeter. It is through their story that the enraptured readers get a real taste of what it was like in Jackson, Mississippi (or the south in general) and end up falling in love with the characters.

For a first novel, Stockett has done very well for herself. She knows how to keep a story going and I found myself wanting to read just one more chapter until I devoured it in a two day sitting. She perfected her characters to the point that the reader cheers for them, is angry with some, and feels the heartbreak of others. I found myself laughing aloud at some points and crying at others.

The Help gets a strong recommendation from me! I hope that if you haven’t already fell in love with this book you will pick it up soon. I doubt you will be disappointed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

