The Late, Lamented Molly Marx


I like to find a lot of my novels by perusing Target or Barnes and Noble or Borders and taking pictures of the cover so that I have a running list of what I need to add to my kindle or Library list. A few months back, I stumbled across this cute cover at Target, took a picture, and downloaded the preview off Amazon. I thought the preview was adorable and couldn’t wait to find it at my local library given that I didn’t have the money to spend ten dollars on a book at the time.

Last Monday, while at the library looking for another novel, I found it and immediately added it to my collection. It took absolutely no time to read and it was an absolute delight.

This is not your normal chick lit about the after life. The Late, Lamented Molly Marx by Sally Koslow tells the story of thirty-five year old Molly who after meeting an untimely death watches her philandering plastic surgeon husband, her three year old daughter, her slightly off kilter twin sister, her parents, her best friend Brie, and the detective assigned to her murder (or accident) investigation.

The novel jumps back and forth between her being dead and watching people grieve or try to find out exactly what happened to her, to her still being alive as her life slowly builds to the moment of her death. Koslow is an exceptional writer and I can’t believe I haven’t stumbled across her before now. She definitely gave Molly the voice that she deserved. I found myself yelling at the characters and almost weeping with Molly. The moments with Molly’s three year old were exceptionally difficult to get through, but beautiful all their own.

This is a novel I strongly suggest. Molly is a great character, never boring, and has a biting sense of humor. This novel will keep you guessing, laughing, crying, and simply enjoying yourself.

Pick it up ASAP! It IS worth the ten dollar fee on Amazon. Promise!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

