Queen of Babble – Cute, Quirky, Fun


I’ve been a fan of Meg Cabot’s for a while. I mean, we’re talking freshman year of highschool when I started reading her Princess Diaries series and asked the librarian at our school to buy the new ones as they came out  so I could finish the series. Yeah, a while. I’ve read her “Boy Series,” which mainly caught my attention because when I flipped through it I noticed a lot of the pages were filled with emails to read, or text message style writing. And honestly, I can’t help get excited about reading books like these because it’s like I’m spying on that person’s personal emails and text messages and I’m really just nosy by nature. (Maybe I can make my own rap group … take THAT Naughty By Nature)

But, I digress.

I was perusing the shelves at the local library and thought it was time to pick up some fun chick lit again and Queen of Babble was the winner!

Queen of Babble is about the lovable, self-proclaimed feminist Lizzie Nichols. Lizzie recently “graduated” from college with a degree in History of Fashion and before starting her new life in New York, she plans on spending the summer with her boyfriend of three months, Andrew, in his home country of England.  The only problem is that Andrew ends up being a scamming gambler and Lizzie quickly realizes that he is not the guy she thought she could love. Luckily, Lizzie’s best friend, Shari, and Shari’s boyfriend, Chaz, are staying at a french chateau with Chaz’s roomate Luke for the summer and offer her a place to stay so as not to waste a non-refundable plane ticket. It’s there that she meets Luke and instantly falls madly in love. Will Lizzie secure a new man and enjoy the summer, or will her big mouth end up getting her in trouble?

This book is cute and was a fun easy read. I’d say it is a nice beach book … but I have a few issues with it. First, it’s called Queen of Babble and yet I don’t really find Lizzie to be much of a blabber mouth. OK, so sometimes she can’t keep a secret … but honestly, those secrets should have been told anyway … so it’s not like she was really in the wrong there. She isn’t a gossipy character that is constantly inserting foot in mouth. If anything, I think this novel should have been called Queen of Fashion … or something along those lines. Which brings me to my next issue. Sophie Kinsella (one of my favorite chick lit authors) wrote a novel back in 2000 called Confessions of a Shopaholic. I’m not saying that Cabot stole the idea and changed a few characters around … but, well … yeah. Lizzie seems to get herself in the same kind of predicaments that the lovable Shopaholic Becky got herself into. Hell, even the love interest has the same name! ALSO, Kinsella wrote a few sequels Shopaholic Takes Manhattan and Shopaholic Ties the Knot to name  a few. And guess what the Queen of Babble series sequels are? Queen of Babble in the Big City and Queen of Babble Gets Hitched. … Just throwing that out there.

Similarities aside, Cabot’s characters are NOT as cute as Kinsella’s … but the novel is still a quick read that has some enjoyable moments. Pick it up if you’re wanting something to read out by the pool.

    • Christina
    • June 4th, 2011

    I noticed the similarities to Kinsella’s books, as well! I enjoyed the Queen of Babble series but also think the title sounds unfitting. Oh well, it was a good quick read (as you said). ^_^

    • Glad I wasn’t the only one that noticed!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

