Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death


This was more like it, Jen!

I’ve already mentioned that I’ve been reading memoirs lately … you know, only the funny ones? Well, this one definitely fits that description perfectly!

Notaro ... You Rock!

Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death by Laurie Notaro is absolutely hilarious. This isn’t the first in her memoir series, and I’m trying to figure out a way to get all of the other books that she’s written. I’ve requested them from the library … but I’m second or third in line, so I doubt I’ll be getting them before we make the big move. I might just have to wait until we get to Omaha.

Anyway, back to the memoir. It’s great! Notaro mixes the right amount of humorous dialogue with sweet little moments that make you smile. I tend to read to Liam from the Kindle while I’m feeding him a bottle just so that he can pick up the language a little bit and literally laughed out loud as I was reading a particular dream that she had about being in Africa. After reading this … I dare you not to laugh aloud at that part!

Her memoir has a flow to it. It’s not just a bunch of ramblings like Silverman’s. The novel does tend to read like a set of blog posts that have a beginning middle and end and reference each other through out the chapters, as opposed to a set story that has one beginning, middle, and end for the entire book like Lancaster’s do.

This one took me no time to finish it. Mainly because I couldn’t wait to hear more about her hilarious antics. I definitely suggest Notaro to others that want to read funny memoirs … or who just want to read a good author period.

I give it **** out of *****

  1. July 12th, 2010

Leave a Reply

