In Which I Praise my Husband on Father’s Day One


Aaron has always been the “marrying kind.” Since the first day that I met him, wearing no make-up, hair in a sloppy pony tail, with my high-water khaki pants and an over-sized Blockbuster collared shirt … I knew that I could fall in love with him.

It took roughly 4-6 months, and a fateful meeting for Alien Vs. Predators … but it happened. I was hooked. I had wiggled out of an emotionally abusive relationship to be with this Man, this Amazing Man, who I thought was so clever and so smart. I thought the world of him, and he returned those feelings and then some.

We … are great together. We laugh, we joke, we’re passionate with our conversations.

I’ve loved Aaron a little more each day that we’ve been together … but that love soared through the roof on the day that our Son was born.

Aaron is an amazing husband, friend, and lover … but he is an exceptional father. I find myself  staring at him with a silly grin on my face while I watch him interact with our son. He carries him around and talks to him about everything. When he reads to him, he points out the words and how they move across the page so that Liam will understand how to read from left to right. While I was working, I’d come home to Liam bouncing up and down on Aaron’s knees while Aaron chanted the alphabet in funny little ways. He shows Liam his fingers while he counts. He never fails to get an immediate smile from Liam when he comes into the room.

He’s never whined about changing a diaper (even after I had recovered from my c-section). He’ll read parenting articles and listen to parenting podcasts to learn more about what Liam is going through at that specific developmental stage.

I’ve always thought that I was going to be an amazing mother. But, I couldn’t be half the mother I am without the love and support that I receive from Aaron.

I always knew that he was the marrying kind and that he would be a great husband. But, he’s the best father I’ve ever known and I’m so proud that my son will forever be able to call him his Daddy.

Aaron's first day as a Father

Daddy & Liam reading together

God took the strength of a mountain,
The Majesty of a tree,
The warmth of a summer sun,
The calm of a quiet sea,
The generous soul of nature,
The comforting arm of night,
The wisdom of the ages,
The power of the eagle’s flight,
The joy of a morning in spring,
The faith of a mustard seed,
The patience of eternity,
The depth of a family need,
Then God combined these qualities,
When there was nothing more to add,
He knew his masterpiece was complete,
And so,

He called him Dad.

  1. I just got teary eyed reading this! What a great Dad!!!

    Also… glad all the house stuff is going smoothly! Hope your move goes well and brings lots of blessings!

    • amanda doiron
    • June 21st, 2010

    And now I’m crying.

    • pasha pipes
    • June 19th, 2011

    that is soooo sweet 🙂 it even made me cry 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Pasha!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

