In Which I discuss my love for Lost


I feel like I have this empty feeling in my stomach knowing that there will never be a new episode of Lost every again. It’s like losing a good friend. A faithful friend. One that you knew you could count on every Tuesday or Wednesday night (depending on the season) to get you through a hard day’s work. Seriously. Tuesdays this year were awesome just knowing that once I got home from work, I could forget about the crappy day that I had and throw myself into the questions and theories and mythology of Lost.

Who said that television rots your brain? I honestly think that my husband and I got smarter the more we watched. We stopped mindlessly watching television and started thinking while watching. Every morning this year, I’d get an email from Aaron (who has worked nights for a while) about his theories from the night before’s Lost. We’d dissect each episode and come up with our own theories. Sometimes they were correct, sometimes they weren’t.

I know that a lot of people didn’t enjoy the finale … but I am definitely not one of them. I could not think of a better way of ending such an epic show. All of the IMPORTANT questions were answered. No, we don’t really know why Walt was special, but who really cares? The show was not all about Walt. It was all about the other characters. The characters that we laughed with … that we cried with … that we loved with. And the writer’s gave us all that.

I felt comfort after the show was over. The writer’s theorize that we aren’t alone when we die … just like we aren’t alone when we live. No matter if you’re religious or not … this ending is spectacular and peaceful.

Science vs Faith was a big theme throughout the entire series … the ending shows us that faith prevails.

In my humble opinion, the ending was perfect. It was beautiful. It solved everything that was important. Everything was relevant. Everything else is left up to the viewers to make their own assumptions about, which is perfect as well. I don’t want everything to be handed to me like I’m an idiot. I want to be able to make my own assumptions about things. We spent six years thinking through theories … why would anyone think that everything would be completely solved at the end? I think that if they would have summed every single thing up in one big bow … that it would have been an insult to our intelligence.

I can’t wait to go back and re-watch every single episode from beginning to the end. I think that we’ll be doing that during this long possibly snow-filled winter in Omaha.

I give the finale ***** out of *****

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

