Maturity


We’re currently reading Romeo & Juliet and watching the movie as we finish each section. I’ve chosen Baz Luerham’s production to show to the class because I thought that it would grab the student’s attention. For those of you that don’t know of this remake, it stars Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes. Instead of using swords, they use guns. But, they still use Shakespeare’s words.

I know that assuming makes an ass out of you (u) and me … and I also know that nothing else these students have done have caused me to think that they are smart or mature enough to handle anything of any kind of intellect. So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that I had it coming.

My students can not understand the way that Shakespeare speaks. They also have no sense of context clues and can not understand anything that is shown to them. They call Mercutio gay because he is dressed in drag for the costume party at the Capulet house. They laugh when Mercutio dies. They talk through nearly the entire movie. They can’t understand the easiest of scenes. They make fun of the language and why they talk like that, even after I explained that that’s how Shakespeare uses the language, iambic pentameter etc.

I know that I’m getting overly frustrated because I’m ready for this year to be over. But, I feel miserable and desperate. I can’t teach these students. They are un-teachable.

  1. So sad! I loved that play in H.S. and seriously L.O.V.E.D. that movie when it came out! It made the play come so much more to life!!!

    • I know! I absolutely adore the new movie, and it came out when I was somewhere around that age and I was mature enough to enjoy it for what it was!!!

    • Trish
    • May 16th, 2010

    I remember spending hours in my room memorizing R&J for when the movie was going to come out. I’m pretty sure I wore out my vhs tape. You’d think teenagers could relate to the drama and love and for the love of god Leo is a million times hotter than any of the jonas brothers. I don’t know about kid today man.

    • I so agree. I absolutely ADORE this movie. Everytime it comes on television I have to watch it. I was heartbroken for days after the ending … mainly because I thought that Leo Dicaprio was SOOO dreamy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

