History of the Blog


ComicStripI’ve been somewhat of a blogger since somewhere around 2003. It started when a friend introduced me to “Xanga.” “Xanga” was the coolest thing around. A lot of the people from our graduating class, lower classes, students from other high schools that we knew or didn’t know all had one. My name: Drama_Angel, named because of my theatrical aspirations rather than the other definition of the word which according to urban dictionary involves backstabbing, gossiping, betraying, and otherwise bitchy behavior.

The blog pitter pattered along, starting as a place to get out my “feelings,” and moving into some full-blown “featured content” 30 + (which was so much back then) comments. Then, push came to shove and I shut it down. When I blog, I get ALL of my feelings out. All of them. Not caring one bit about other people’s feelings on the matter. I’ve tried to move away from that, matured and what have you. Maybe.

So, I moved into another Xanga blog: Still_Me_21. I tried to keep my same following, which had moved from the locals to a smattering of people from both the east and west coast. It was cool. It got by. But, it was never quite the same as the first. I couldn’t find the inspiration. I couldn’t find the readers. I couldn’t find the drive.

I thought to myself … maybe it’s the space? That’s right, I moved again. This time to Blogger.com. Rachel-Allen.blogspot.com which ended up turning in to LittleMissEnglishTeacher.blogspot.com once I became a teacher and didn’t want to have my blog easily googled. The blog started out amazing. It had a dab of everything: Movie reviews, Television reviews, Blogs about the going ons in the news or pop culture. Until it didn’t anymore.

My writing had regressed back to those old days of 2003. I would simply rattle on about what happened in my life that day, or that week, or that month depending on how often I actually signed on to update the blog. So, it’s time for a change. (Again?) Let’s see how long this one sticks.

My plan is to experiment with a little bit of everything. Some mommy blogging about my sweet little boy as he grows up, my struggles with my idealistic views of the educational system, reviews of books, movies, television shows (if I can ever actually catch up with my DVR) and anything else that I can come up with.

My goal is to not post just out of boredom. If I’m bored that day why should I put that on someone else? If I feel guilty because I haven’t posted in over four weeks, why burden you guys with a crappy post. I’m not going to set any unreachable goals. I’m not going to say I’m going to post every day, but I’ll try the best that I can. All I can do is hope that what I write will gather some readers. If you write it, they will come right?

Here’s hoping for success.

“The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say.” – Anaïs Nin

  1. Excited about your new site! Can’t believe it’s been since 2003! I think I started reading your blogs back when you were Drama Angel! Ohhh the X, those were the days… (ha!) I enjoy your thoughts from mommy stuff to English teacher stuff and everything in between! 🙂 It’s been fun to read each others blogs (however randomly we both post!) through all these years! (hopefully you don’t judge my grammar too much!)

    • Psh! I don’t judge anyone’s grammar … I’m an English teacher and I sometimes worry about my own! I’m so glad that we’ve kept up with each other all this time 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

